Our final celebration of all things small in the Hamptons this week takes a look at diminutive museums, from the cozy confines of the Thomas Halsey Homestead in Southampton all the way out to Second House in Montauk.Read More
Mapping Small Museums of the Hamptons
Thomas Halsey Homestead
This is believed to be the oldest English-style house in New York State, built in 1660 by Thomas Halsey, one of the original English settlers who purchased land from the Shinnecocks. The house is full of fascinating 17th and 18th century furnishings and includes a Dominy clock.
This is the only American trade shop built in the 1600s that has been in continuous use, in its original location. It was originally a dry goods store, but between 1750 and 1810 noted artist Elias Pelletreau occupied the shop making jewelry and silver flatware and hollowware. Today, a master jeweler still uses the building.
This is the only existing town government meeting place to survive from the Colonial period on Long Island. East Hampton Trustees met here.
Annie Cooper Boyd House
Annie Cooper Boyd grew up in Sag Harbor; this house, given to her by her father, was her marital summer home. An artist, many of her paintings adorn the walls of the house, now owned by the Sag Harbor Historical Society. The c. 1790 house was originally a saltbox that was added on to over the years.
Miss Amelia’s Cottage
Built in 1725 and full of antiques—including a collection of Dominy furniture—the small museum contains artifacts and exhibits illustrating Amagansett family life over 300 years. In a barn to the rear is a carriage museum.
This small gallery chronicles the careers of modernist painter Gerson Lieber and renowned handbag designed Judith Leiber.
Second House Museum
This 1700s farmhouse holds a collection of early photos and artifacts that document the era of old Montauk, when it was filled with pastures, sheep, and cattle.