clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile
Getty Images

The most iconic sites in the Hamptons

Check out these historic and iconic buildings on the East End

View as Map

While the Hamptons may not have iconic skyscrapers the way that urban cities will, we do have plenty of architectural masterpieces floating around the East End—some of which are even for sale.

Know of an iconic site that you don’t see here? Leave it in the comments—we update our maps regularly.

Read More
Eater maps are curated by editors and aim to reflect a diversity of neighborhoods, cuisines, and prices. Learn more about our editorial process.

The Double Diamond House

Copy Link

Designed by Andrew Geller in 1958, the Double Diamond House on Dune Road in Westhampton Beach is owned by Jonathan Pearlroth, who worked to renovate and restore the iconic home in 2013.

He has put the oceanfront home up for rent for several summers, most recently asking $250,000 for Memorial Day to Labor Day.

The Big Duck

Copy Link

The Big Duck was originally built in 1931, at which time it acted as a poultry store and you could literally buy duck from the Big Duck. It’s been relocated several times, but it currently stands on Flanders Road, now acting as a tourist destination with information and souvenirs.

Here’s a fun fact: The Big Duck’s eyes are made from Ford Model T tail lights, which glow red at night.

The Thomas Halsey Homestead

Copy Link

This house was built in 1660; its owner, Thomas Halsey, was one of the original families who bought property from the Shinnecocks in 1640. Believed to be the oldest English-style house in New York State, the building is filled with 17th and 18th century furnishings.

Halcyon Lodge

Copy Link

Halcyon Lodge is one of Southampton Village's original cottage colony homes. It is a rare example of the stick style, of which there may only be one other remaining in the village. In 1951, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Ford II, the owners, commissioned Philip Johnson to add a glass addition to the residence.

Parrish Art Museum

Copy Link

The famous museum in Water Mill has has Roy Lichtenstein’s Tokyo Brushstroke I & II on display outside since April of 2014.

Claudio's Restaurant

Copy Link

Up until recently Claduio’s has been owned by the same family. In fact, it’s the longest family ownership of a restaurant by the same family in the US, and it’s a national historic landmark.

Beebe Windmill

Copy Link

One of the many windmills on the East End, the Beebe Windmill sits on the southeast corner of Ocean Road and Hildreth Avenue in Bridgehampton. Built in 1820, the windmill first stood in Sag Harbor, but was later moved to Bridgehampton. In 1977, it was in a Historic American Engineering Record and reportedly one of the first Long Island windmills to have cast iron gears, among other features.

Old Whaler’s Church

Copy Link

Sag Harbor’s First Presbyterian Church—more commonly known as the Old Whaler’s Church—was built in 1844 in the Egyptian Revival style. Designed by Minard Lafever, the church also contains Greek Revival elements, especially inside the building. Its original steeple, which stood 185 feet high, was destroyed by the 1938 hurricane.

Kilkare

Copy Link

Featured in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, this historic oceanfront Wainscott home has only been on the market twice since it was built in 1877.

Grey Gardens

Copy Link

Made famous by the 1975 documentary Grey Gardens, this Georgica section home in East Hampton sold to a new owner after former residents Sally Quinn and late husband Ben Bradlee completely renovated the home when they purchased it from Big Edie and Little Edit Beale in 1979.

Jewish Center of the Hamptons

Copy Link

The sanctuary, Shaarey Pardes (Gates of the Grove), is considered architect Norman Jaffe's masterwork. It is immersed in symbolism. Architecture critic Paul Goldberger once called it "a building that is at once a gentle tent and a powerful monument, at once a civic presence that celebrates community and a place of quiet meditation that honors solitude."

Gardiner Mill

Copy Link

On the east side of Town Pond, this mill was built by Nathaniel Dominy V for John Lyon Gardiner. The mill was completed on September 28, 1804 and cost about $1,300—which, at the time, was more than any other residence in East Hampton. The mill continued to operate until 1900.

Pollock-Krasner House

Copy Link

Jackson Pollack and Lee Krasner famously lived in Springs, and the Pollack-Krasner House and Study Center—now a part of Stony Brook University—actually still has all of the furnishings that were in the house when Krasner died in 1984.

Andy Warhol and Paul Morrissey’s famous Montauk compound has had many famous guests, including Liza Manelli, Mick Jagger, John Lennon, Elizabeth Taylor, and Jackie Kennedy Onassis. On over 30 acres of land, the property has almost 15,000 square feet of living space.

Camp Hero State Park

Copy Link

Camp Hero State Park is actually the place that the cult-favorite television show Stranger Things was based on. And let’s face it—that radio tower is just a bit creepy.

Montauk Lighthouse

Copy Link

The Montauk Lighthouse, commissioned by President Washington, was the first public works project of the new United States. It was first lit in 1797 with eight whale-oil lamps. Today, erosion control of the site is still a concern.

Loading comments...

The Double Diamond House

Designed by Andrew Geller in 1958, the Double Diamond House on Dune Road in Westhampton Beach is owned by Jonathan Pearlroth, who worked to renovate and restore the iconic home in 2013.

He has put the oceanfront home up for rent for several summers, most recently asking $250,000 for Memorial Day to Labor Day.

The Big Duck

The Big Duck was originally built in 1931, at which time it acted as a poultry store and you could literally buy duck from the Big Duck. It’s been relocated several times, but it currently stands on Flanders Road, now acting as a tourist destination with information and souvenirs.

Here’s a fun fact: The Big Duck’s eyes are made from Ford Model T tail lights, which glow red at night.

The Thomas Halsey Homestead

This house was built in 1660; its owner, Thomas Halsey, was one of the original families who bought property from the Shinnecocks in 1640. Believed to be the oldest English-style house in New York State, the building is filled with 17th and 18th century furnishings.

Halcyon Lodge

Halcyon Lodge is one of Southampton Village's original cottage colony homes. It is a rare example of the stick style, of which there may only be one other remaining in the village. In 1951, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Ford II, the owners, commissioned Philip Johnson to add a glass addition to the residence.

Parrish Art Museum

The famous museum in Water Mill has has Roy Lichtenstein’s Tokyo Brushstroke I & II on display outside since April of 2014.

Claudio's Restaurant

Up until recently Claduio’s has been owned by the same family. In fact, it’s the longest family ownership of a restaurant by the same family in the US, and it’s a national historic landmark.

Beebe Windmill

One of the many windmills on the East End, the Beebe Windmill sits on the southeast corner of Ocean Road and Hildreth Avenue in Bridgehampton. Built in 1820, the windmill first stood in Sag Harbor, but was later moved to Bridgehampton. In 1977, it was in a Historic American Engineering Record and reportedly one of the first Long Island windmills to have cast iron gears, among other features.

Old Whaler’s Church

Sag Harbor’s First Presbyterian Church—more commonly known as the Old Whaler’s Church—was built in 1844 in the Egyptian Revival style. Designed by Minard Lafever, the church also contains Greek Revival elements, especially inside the building. Its original steeple, which stood 185 feet high, was destroyed by the 1938 hurricane.

Kilkare

Featured in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, this historic oceanfront Wainscott home has only been on the market twice since it was built in 1877.

Grey Gardens

Made famous by the 1975 documentary Grey Gardens, this Georgica section home in East Hampton sold to a new owner after former residents Sally Quinn and late husband Ben Bradlee completely renovated the home when they purchased it from Big Edie and Little Edit Beale in 1979.

Jewish Center of the Hamptons

The sanctuary, Shaarey Pardes (Gates of the Grove), is considered architect Norman Jaffe's masterwork. It is immersed in symbolism. Architecture critic Paul Goldberger once called it "a building that is at once a gentle tent and a powerful monument, at once a civic presence that celebrates community and a place of quiet meditation that honors solitude."

Gardiner Mill

On the east side of Town Pond, this mill was built by Nathaniel Dominy V for John Lyon Gardiner. The mill was completed on September 28, 1804 and cost about $1,300—which, at the time, was more than any other residence in East Hampton. The mill continued to operate until 1900.

Pollock-Krasner House

Jackson Pollack and Lee Krasner famously lived in Springs, and the Pollack-Krasner House and Study Center—now a part of Stony Brook University—actually still has all of the furnishings that were in the house when Krasner died in 1984.

Eothen

Andy Warhol and Paul Morrissey’s famous Montauk compound has had many famous guests, including Liza Manelli, Mick Jagger, John Lennon, Elizabeth Taylor, and Jackie Kennedy Onassis. On over 30 acres of land, the property has almost 15,000 square feet of living space.

Camp Hero State Park

Camp Hero State Park is actually the place that the cult-favorite television show Stranger Things was based on. And let’s face it—that radio tower is just a bit creepy.

Montauk Lighthouse

The Montauk Lighthouse, commissioned by President Washington, was the first public works project of the new United States. It was first lit in 1797 with eight whale-oil lamps. Today, erosion control of the site is still a concern.