Built in 1746, Second House claims the title of the oldest structure still standing in Montauk. And after a $453,000 bid accepted by East Hampton Town, the 18th-century house is going to be restored, reports WSHU.
Second House once served as a home to sheep and cattle keepers and a school, but since 1960, it’s been a museum. Unfortunately, the doors to the museum have been closed as it can’t accommodate visitors, but after this restoration, the Montauk Historical Society plans to re-open it to the public.
Here’s what the Montauk Historical Society has to say about the restoration on their website:
All of the inner walls and ceilings have been exposed and plans are being drawn for this house to be restored to its former 1880 ‘keepers house’
We will reopen hopefully by spring 2019 at which time we will offer educational programs in the form of visual learning tools for all elementary and high school students learning about the grass roots of American history here within the town of East Hampton. Teachers, artists, veterans, historians, tourists and so many more will want to again visit this unique landmark.
Interestingly, in 1797, adding on to the structure cost “three gallons of rum,” according to Town Trustee records.
For tips and corrections, please email email@example.com