Canny East Enders have always found a way to supplement their income by taking in summer visitors, but their numbers started to swell in 1870 when the Long Island Rail Road was extended as far as Bridgehampton and the hamlet marketed itself as a summer destination. In 1877 a brochure was distributed by the Long Island Rail Road called "Long Island and Where to Go." The pages on Bridgehampton include the rates (single fare, $2.40, excursion, $4.35—$4.35 in 1877 is equivalent to about $96 today), and a list of 35 places to board. The William Corwith House was noted as accommodating 15 boarders. In later years, Mr. Corwith enlarged the house to take in even more boarders. He and his family then squeezed into small bedrooms.
This Saturday, September 14, at 10AM, go see the Bridgehampton Museum's curator, Ms. Julie Greene, talk you through the current "Next Stop, Seaside Board" exhibition at the William Corwith House and learn about this fascinating period in Hamptons history. The tour is about an hour and admission is free.
· Bridgehampton Museum [Official site]